Home » Football » Scotland » Men's league system

Flag of Scotland.



The SFA logo.


This is a tabular summary of the Scottish senior league structure from the beginning of the 2021-22 season, taking into account further changes to the non-league feeder system: -

- Levels 1-4: league football
1.Scottish Premiership
2.Scottish Championship
3.Scottish League 1
4.Scottish League 2
- Levels 5-8: regional senior leagues
5.Highland LeagueLowland League
6.Midland LeagueNorth Caledonian LeagueNorth Super LeagueEast of Scotland League
South of Scotland LeagueWest of Scotland League
7. North
Division 1
East of Scotland League
Division 1
Conferences A & B
 West of Scotland League
Conferences A, B & C
Division 2
East of Scotland League
Conference X
West of Scotland League
Division 4



The overview above covers only senior football, which is overseen primarily by the Scottish FA and Scottish Professional Football League. The senior football pyramid was introduced as recently as 2013, when a promotion-relegation play-off system was introduced involving the bottom club in League 2 facing off against the winner of a tie between the champions of the Highland League and the then-new Lowland League. Since that time, many clubs have become members of leagues feeding into the Highland and Lowland Leagues, many taken from the ranks of the Scottish Junior Football Association's competitions. As of the aborted 2020-21 season, these are as follows: -

East Region Junior FANorth Region Junior FAWest Region Junior FA
East Premiership NorthNRJFA Aberdeen NorthNRJFA Aberdeen SouthNRJFA Banff & BuchanNRJFA West 

The West Region Junior FA ceased to run any leagues as of 2020 due to all of its teams moving over to the new West of Scotland League. They do, however, still participate in SJFA cup competitions.

Similarly, the remaining junior leagues are likely to be incorporated wholesale in the new Highland League feeders (the Midland League, North Super League and its feeders).


The Scottish Amateur Football Association oversees many regional and local leagues and cups, including Saturday, Sunday and summer leagues. Those leagues which are played primarily on Saturday afternoons are as follows: -

Winter leaguesSummer leagues
Aberdeenshire Amateur FAIsle of Arran Amateur FA
Ayrshire Amateur FACaithness Amateur FA
Border Amateur LeagueInverness & District Amateur FA
Caledonian Amateur LeagueLewis & Harris Amateur FA
Central Scottish Amateur LeagueNorth West Sutherland Amateur FA
Greater Glasgow Premier Amateur LeagueOrkney Amateur FA
Kingdom of Fife Amateur FAShetland Amateur FA
Lothian & Edinburgh Amateur FA (Saturday)Shetland Works Amateur League
Midlands Amateur FASkye & Lochalsh Amateur FA
Perthshire Amateur FAUist & Barra Amateur FA
Scottish Amateur League 
Stirling & District Amateur FA


The Scottish Welfare Football Association, founded in the wake of World War I, currently runs some nine leagues: -

Forres & Nairn District Welfare Association LeagueForth & Endrick LeagueGreenock & District Welfare League
Mid-Deeside Summer LeagueLewis & Harris Community LeagueMontrose & District Welfare League
Moray & District Welfare LeagueNorth East Scotland Welfare LeagueStrathspey & Badenoch Welfare League
Sir Graham